×
Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

San Diego Comic-Con 2020: The best panels to watch on day 3

This year's San Diego Comic-Con is in full swing, hosting fun panels and dropping plenty of exciting news even with the convention being held digitally for the first time in history. 

Days one and two of Comic-Con@Home brought us presentations about thriving in the comic book industry during a global pandemic, panels about fan-favorite series The Boys and His Dark Materials, sneak peeks at what's in store for upcoming shows like Utopia and the Simon Pegg-Nick Frost collaboration Truth Seekers, and even the spine-tingling opening scene of The New Mutants

So, what does day three — Friday, July 24, 2020 — have in store for fans? Tons of television and what's sure to be a richly rewarding panel centered on one of the coolest action movie stars of our generation. 

Here are the best panels to watch on Friday during San Diego Comic-Con@Home.

Television panels galore during Comic-Con@Home on Friday, July 24

Those who love television will love what Comic-Con@Home has scheduled for day three. Specifically, fans of The Walking Dead and the other properties that exist within its ever-expanding universe are going to flip out for a solid three hours, as a trio of panels are set to stream back-to-back on Friday — one for the flagship series, one for its spin-off, and one for the upcoming show The Walking Dead: World Beyond, centered on the first generation of people to grow up during the apocalypse.

Other television panels that virtual attendees can stream online — for free via the Comic-Con International YouTube page — include ones for History's epic historical drama Vikings, which will soon end with the second half of its sixth season; the hilarious animated shows Bob's Burgers and Archer; the sort-of revival Adventure Time: Distant Landscomprised of four hour-long specials based on the original show; and the new Marvel Cinematic Universe-set show Helstrom.

Plus, tune into a special Comic-Con@Home presentation with The Walking Dead mastermind Robert Kirkman, who will answer fan questions and dish details on upcoming projects.

Adventure Time: Distant Lands — 11 AM PT (2 PM ET, 7 PM BST): "C'mon grab your friends for a special return to the Land of Ooo and beyond with Adventure Time: Distant Lands. Based on the animated series Adventure Time by show creator Pendleton Ward and executive producer Adam Muto, these four specials explore the unseen corners of the world with both familiar and exciting brand-new characters. Join moderator Michaela Dietz, Amethyst from Steven Universe, as she shares all of the ba-nay-nay details about the BMO special from Adam Muto (executive producer), Glory Curda (Y5), Olivia Olson (Marceline), and Niki Yang (BMO). Plus, stick around for a righteous sneak peek of the second special, Obsidian. It's gonna be so spice!"

Vikings: A Look Back with the Lothbroks – 11 AM PT (2 PM ET, 7 PM BST): "Michael Hirst, Travis Fimmel, Katheryn Winnick, Alex Ludwig, Clive Standen, and Jordan Patrick Smith will discuss their favorite moments from the past six and a half seasons, favorite fan interactions, and what makes Vikings so extraordinary. The panel will be moderated by Kate Hahn, senior writer, TV Guide magazine."

Fear the Walking Dead — 12 PM PT (3 PM ET, 8 PM BST): "Fear the Walking Dead will present a panel for the series' upcoming sixth season, premiering later this year. Moderated by Chris Hardwick, the panel will feature TWDU chief content officer Scott M. Gimple, showrunners and executive producers Andrew Chambliss and Ian Goldberg, and cast members Lennie James, Alycia Debnam-Carey, Colman Domingo, Danay Garcia, Karen David, Jenna Elfman, and Rubén Blades. Season 6 of Fear the Walking Dead explores what has become of the unlikely family once united by a mission to help those in need. After being torn apart by Virginia (Colby Minifie) and her Pioneers, the group is now dispersed across her far-reaching settlements. Morgan's (James) last message at the end of season five implored the group to 'Just Live' and this season we'll see what that means to each of them. Some will find the stability and opportunity within Virginia's communities to be intriguing, some will sink into darkness, while others will fight back against what has been forced upon them. Life behind Virginia's walls will test each and every one of them in different ways, forcing them to define who they are in this new world."

The Walking Dead — 1 PM PT (4 PM ET, 9 PM BST): "The Walking Dead will make its 11th San Diego Comic-Con appearance with a panel spotlighting 'A Certain Doom,' which will air as a standalone episode later this year. Moderated by Chris Hardwick (Talking Dead), the panel will feature TWDU chief content officer Scott M. Gimple, showrunner and executive producer Angela Kang, executive producer Greg Nicotero, who directed the episode, and cast members Norman Reedus, Melissa McBride, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Lauren Cohan, Josh McDermitt, Seth Gilliam, Ross Marquand, Khary Payton, and Paola Lazaro. In The Walking Dead episode 1016, 'A Certain Doom,' Beta engages the final battle of the Whisperer War."

The Walking Dead: The World Beyond — 2 PM PT (5 PM ET, 10 PM BST): "The Walking Dead: World Beyond makes its Comic-Con International debut as the third series in wildly successful The Walking Dead Universe. Moderated by Chris Hardwick, the series' panel will feature TWDU chief content officer Scott M. Gimple, showrunner and executive producer Matt Negrete and cast members Aliyah Royale, Alexa Mansour, Hal Cumpston, Nicholas Cantu, Nico Tortorella, Julia Ormond, and Joe Holt. The Walking Dead: World Beyond delves into a new mythology and story that follows the first generation raised in a surviving civilization of the post-apocalyptic world. Two sisters along with two friends leave a place of safety and comfort to brave dangers, known and unknown, living and undead on an important quest. Pursued by those who wish to protect them and those who wish to harm them, a tale of growing up and transformation unfurls across dangerous terrain, challenging everything they know about the world, themselves and each other. Some will become heroes. Some will become villains. But all of them will find the truths they seek."

The Capture — 3 PM PT (6 PM ET, 11 PM BST): "With the emergence of video surveillance and facial recognition, The Capture unveils a troubling world of fake news and the extraordinary power of intelligence services. To celebrate the premiere, the cast and creators will come together to discuss what could happen when seeing is deceiving and technological capabilities are abused. Go behind the scenes with executive producers Ben Chanan (The Missing, The People Next Door), Rosie Alison (Paddington 2, The Light Between Oceans) and series stars Holliday Grainger (Strike, Patrick Melrose), Callum Turner (War & Peace, Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald), Ron Perlman (Hellboy, Hand of God), Laura Haddock (Transformers: The Last Knight, Guardians of the Galaxy), and Famke Janssen (X-Men, Taken). The Capture will be streaming exclusively on Peacock, NBCUniversal's new streaming service, on July 15."

Hulu's Helstrom — 3 PM PT (6 PM ET, 11 PM BST): "Talk about some family drama! Join Helstrom showrunner Paul Zbyszewski and cast — Tom Austen, Sydney Lemmon, Elizabeth Marvel, Robert Wisdom, Ariana Guerra, June Carryl, and Alain Uy — for one hell of a sneak-peek look and conversation around bringing this terror-filled comic to life as Hulu's next horror series. Moderated by IGN's Laura Prudom."

Bob's Burgers — 4 PM PT (7 PM ET, 12 AM BST): "The Emmy Award-winning animated FOX series Bob's Burgers invites fans into their homes for a virtual panel with all of the laughs and surprises they generally bring to the Indigo Ballroom. Creator and executive producer Loren Bouchard will break news about the upcoming season, and the always entertaining cast including H. Jon Benjamin, John Roberts, Kristen Schaal, Eugene Mirman, Dan Mintz, and Larry Murphy will have you howling with laughter with never-before-seen footage, followed by a lively panel discussion and fan Q&A."

Comic-Con: Robert Kirkman at Home — 4 PM PT (7 PM ET, 12 AM BST): "Robert Kirkman (The Walking Dead, Invincible, Fire Power) shares his latest projects and answers your questions!"

Archer – 5 PM PT (8 PM ET, 1 AM BST): "Who says staying home is boring? Archer, FXX's award-winning animated comedy, returns for its 11th season later this year and follows Sterling Archer and his return to the spy world after a three-year coma. But first, join the voice cast of Aisha Tyler, Chris Parnell, Judy Greer, Amber Nash, and Lucky Yates, plus executive producer Casey Willis for a lively discussion and the reveal of not-to-be-missed details about the new season!"

Pandora – 5 PM PT (8 PM ET, 1 AM BST): "The cast and crew of the CW's hit sci-fi series previews the show's exciting second season debuting this fall. Join cast members Priscilla Quintana (Jax), Oliver Dench (Xander), and Ben Radcliffe (Ralen) along with executive producers Mark A. Altman (The Librarians, Agent X), Steve Kriozere (NCIS, Castle), and Thomas P. Vitale (Slasher) along with moderator Scott 'Movie' Mantz as they look back at the first season and share a special sneak peek of the new season as Jax learns whether she'll be the savior of our universe or its destruction. Pandora is a production of Radioactive Fishtank, Vital Signs Entertainment, and Starlings Television."

A movie-focused Q&A will stream on Friday during 2020's Comic-Con@Home

A sizable portion of the pop-culture-attuned population either attend San Diego Comic-Con in person or follow along with all the breaking news coming out of the convention for one very specific reason: They want to know everything they can about upcoming movies. Sadly, the current state of the world has thrown film productions into total disarray, and has forced studios to delay most all movies that were scheduled to hit theaters this year. For instance, Marvel had to reshuffle its entire Phase 4 slate — pushing back what was supposed to be the introduction to the new chapter of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, Black Widow, from its May 2020 launch window and then delaying every subsequent release on the schedule. 

With very few movies coming out in 2020 and essentially zero progress being made on films that were supposed to start and/or complete filming this year, big studios like Marvel, DC Entertainment, Warner Bros., Sony Pictures, Paramount Pictures, and more have elected to skip San Diego Comic-Con@Home. However, the convention organizers still have a movie-focused treat for audiences at home during the third day of the event: "Charlize Theron: Evolution of a Badass – An Action Hero Career Retrospective," which will take a look back at Theron's impressive filmography and feature the actress herself. 

Charlize Theron: Evolution of a Badass – An Action Hero Career Retrospective — 10 AM PT (1 PM ET, 6 PM BST): "Actress and producer Charlize Theron reflects on portraying over two decades of action heroes, from Æon Flux to The Old Guard's Andromache, Mad Max: Fury Road's Furiosa to Atomic Blonde's Lorraine Broughton. In a lengthy retrospective Q&A moderated by IGN's Terri Schwartz, Theron discusses the evolution of the modern female action hero, the roles that inspired her and what drives her to constantly push her limits with fight training."